Women’s Council Luncheon: Carrie Mae Weems

Banner CMW

Special event

Join us for the 2022 Woman’s Board Keynote + Luncheon and hear from acclaimed artist Carrie Mae Weems about how her work engages with ideas of race, gender, and American identity. After the conference, enjoy a lively lunch in the Modern Wing’s Griffin Courtyard.

The Lecture + Luncheon is the Woman’s Board’s primary fundraiser and supports learning and engagement initiatives throughout the museum. The co-chairs of the event are Eve Reppen Rogers and Lori Sugarman-Li, members of the Art Institute of Chicago Woman’s Board of Trustees.

Since its inception in 1952, the Women’s Council has provided annual support to the museum and underwritten educational programs for various audiences, including families, students and educators, and the general public.

Carrie Mae Weems

Over his nearly 40-year career, Weems has created a complex body of work that helps us better understand our present moment by examining our collective past. She has received numerous awards, grants, and fellowships, and her work is held in public and private collections around the world, including the Art Institute of Chicago; Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; Tate Modern, London; the Museum of Modern Art in New York; and Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art.

In order for you and all of our guests to enjoy the experience safely, all museum visitation policies in effect at the time of the event must be followed.

To learn more about conference + lunch and sponsorship opportunities, contact the Woman’s Board at (312) 443-3628 or [email protected]


Main Sponsors

Welcome committee

The Bluhm Family Foundation

Margot and Mark Bowen

Judy Castellini

Marthe Jannotta

Karen Z. Gray-Krehbiel and John H. Krehbiel, Jr.

Stephanie F. Harris

Joan and Charles Moore

Anne Nelson Reyes

Betsy and Andy Rosenfield

Barbara A. Speer

Pam Phillips Weston

Patron Sponsors


Connie Coolidge and Lisa Coolidge Roberts

Lisa Erhardt

Caryn Harris

Schuyler Levin

Jennifer Litowitz

Melissa McNally

Shirley W. and Patrick G. Ryan

Nancy and Scott Santi

Marie Claire Starshak

Lori Sugarman-Li

Wanji Walcott

Hotel accommodation provided by the Chicago Athletic Association

Sponsorships as of September 1, 2022.

Angela C. Hale